Forum index  
Go Back   Michigan Morels index > Cook, garden & preserve > GARDENING + info & links Smokers
GARDENING + info & links Grab an hoe and start digging for info.

Old Dec 26, 2005, 11:08 am   #1
RonT
Name: Ron
Southern, Michigan USA

Smokers

I have never used a smoker before but would like to try using one. Anyone have any suggestions on a small, inexpensive smoker that works well? One of the local sporting good stores have a Brinkmann combo grill/smoker on sale for a good price and it says it can hold 50 lbs of meat at a time. Are these combo smokers effective? Any suggestions would be welcomed. Thanks.
Old Dec 26, 2005, 1:38 pm   #2
Happy Trails
Name: George
Southern, Michigan USA

Ron,

A lot of BBQ has been cooked on a what is affectionally called a ECB (El Cheapo Brinkman). To me, it all depends on what you are smoking and how much time and energy to want to put into it. The Brinkman does not have any insulation so it is influenced by the weather conditions. Another downside for me is a good pork butt or picnic takes a good 18 hours, give or take, to render a goodly portion of the fat out and make it nice and tender for pulled pork. A beef packer cut brisket takes almost as long. You'll be adding charcoal and wood all through the night. Now a slab of salmon can be hot smoked is a little over an hour. I've also gone the route of the offset stick smoker and that is a all nighter for beef and pork as well.

I finally got to lazy and moved up to the smallest residential Cookshack. When and if you might decide to "dig a little deeper", this alternative sure simplified things for me. Insulated to 1000 degrees - cooks the same in summer and winter. The cooking process is still an all nighter, but I sleep right through it. Just stick a polder temperature gauge into the meat. "Set it and forget it". There is also a chinese knock off product which is basically the same item, called a Smoken Tex, for a little less money.